Milk from collection centre to cheese vat, spray dryer and lab bench: the chemistry, microbiology, processing and engineering of dairy, taught as one degree in Karnal, Wageningen, Madison, Lahore and beyond.
This track covers the whole dairy science and technology degree: dairy chemistry, dairy microbiology, product technology, dairy engineering, and quality, regulation and business, up to PhD level. Its curriculum and exam map are built from the exam syllabi that were read directly (ICAR AIEEA-PG groups 16 and 17, ICAR AICE-JRF/SRF subjects 34, 36, 37 and 38, GATE XL-U, the ACS Certified Cheese Professional blueprint) and from the usual structure of dairy degrees; each exam row says how firmly it was verified, and many rows outside India are not yet verified. The veterinary track's milk-products-technology and the agricultural engineering track's food-dairy-engineering give overviews; this track goes deeper. Laisha's questions are original practice written to these syllabi and patterns; they are not past papers and do not reproduce any board's questions.
Year 1. The science, mathematics, engineering basics and animal knowledge a dairy scientist builds on, and the shape of the world dairy industry. Where the veterinary or agricultural engineering tracks already teach a topic in depth, these subjects take only what a dairy technologist needs and point there.
Years 1–3. Milk as a chemical system: its constituents, physical properties and the chemistry of every product made from it, with the analytical methods that measure them. Equals ICAR AICE subject 34 and half of AIEEA-PG group 16.
Years 2–3. Micro-organisms that spoil milk, make it unsafe, or turn it into cheese and fermented milks; the starters and probiotics the industry depends on; and how labs prove a product is safe. Equals ICAR AICE subject 36 and half of AIEEA-PG group 16.
Years 2–4. The core of the degree: how milk becomes every dairy product, with the packaging, sensory judging and rheology that finish it. Goes well beyond the single veterinary subject milk-products-technology, which gives the overview.
Years 2–4. The engineering of the milk plant: flow, heat, separation, evaporation, drying, refrigeration, utilities, control, design, cleaning and effluent. The agricultural engineering track's food-dairy-engineering and heat-mass-transfer give the general theory; these subjects apply it to dairy equipment and plant decisions. Equals ICAR AICE subject 38 and AIEEA-PG 17.2.
Years 3–4 and PG. Making and proving safe, legal products, and running the dairy business: food safety systems, standards worldwide, quality assurance, economics, management and extension.
MSc, MTech and PhD. The advanced and research subjects that ICAR AICE-JRF/SRF, ASRB NET, a master's abroad or an R&D career expect beyond the bachelor's degree.
Every row names the page or document it was taken from. 'verified' means the official page or document was opened and read for this track on 3 Oct 2026; 'secondary' means the details come from another track's checked row, a related official page, or a non-official source; 'unverified' means only the body's existence or home page is cited and the format is not known. Web search was exhausted while this track was built, so many rows outside India are unverified and need a check before anyone relies on them. Dairy science has few dedicated licensing exams worldwide: in most countries graduates are hired on their degree, and the exams that matter are postgraduate entrance, public-service recruitment, food-safety credentials and cheese certifications. Where a country trains dairy staff through apprenticeships rather than exams, the row says so.
| Nationally recognised food (dairy) processing qualifications unverified Australian national training system (training.gov.au); New Zealand qualifications framework · professional | Unverified. Competency-based vocational qualifications assessed on the job, not a written national exam. | source |
| Técnico em Laticínios (dairy technician) — Instituto de Laticínios Cândido Tostes unverified EPAMIG (Minas Gerais agricultural research agency) · entrance | Unverified. Selection exam for the technical course. | source |
| ENADE — Food Engineering and food technology courses unverified INEP / MEC · professional | General format (agricultural engineering track): 4 hours, general education 25% and specific component 75%. | source |
| National Postgraduate Entrance Exam (考研) — Food Science and Engineering unverified Ministry of Education / NEEA and universities · pg | Unverified for this discipline. The general format is politics 100 + foreign language 100 + two subject papers of 150 (see the agricultural engineering and agribusiness tracks). | source |
| Mejerist (dairy technologist) vocational education unverified Kold College, Odense · professional | Unverified. A vocational (EUD) programme; the final assessment format is not stated on the home page. | source |
| National university exit exam unverified Ministry of Education · professional | Unverified. | source |
| Dairy schools (ENIL) and BTSA Sciences et technologies des aliments unverified Ministry of Agriculture (agricultural education) · professional | Unverified. | source |
| Milchtechnologe/Milchtechnologin (apprenticeship) and Molkereimeister unverified Chambers (IHK / Landwirtschaftskammer) under federal training regulations (BIBB) · professional | Unverified. A dual vocational apprenticeship with intermediate and final chamber examinations; the master-craftsman level (Molkereimeister) and state-certified technician routes follow. | source |
| FSSC 22000 and ISO 22000 auditor qualification unverified Foundation FSSC (scheme owner); certification bodies and auditor training providers · professional | Unverified. Auditors qualify through lead-auditor training with an exam, then witnessed audits, under scheme rules. | source |
| CUET (ICAR-UG): admission to B.Tech Dairy Technology ICAR / NTA · entrance | Computer-based CUET subject tests (the ICAR-UG counselling uses CUET-UG scores). The subject combination ICAR accepts for each degree is set in each year's ICAR bulletin; check it there. | source |
| State entrance exams for B.Tech Dairy Technology / B.Sc Dairy Science unverified State entrance authorities (e.g. Kerala CEE for KEAM) · entrance | Unverified. Varies by state: engineering-style PCM tests in most states. | source |
| ICAR AIEEA-PG: Dairy Science (group 16) and Dairy Technology (group 17) NTA for ICAR · pg | Computer-based, 2 hours, 120 multiple-choice questions, +4 for a correct answer and −1 for a wrong one (2026 bulletin). One paper per major subject group. | source |
| ICAR AICE-JRF/SRF (PhD): Dairy Chemistry, Dairy Microbiology, Dairy Technology, Dairy Engineering NTA for ICAR · phd | Computer-based, 2 hours, 120 questions in three parts (A general, B core group, C specialised subject), +4/−1, as recorded from the 2025–2026 bulletins in the veterinary track. The dairy subject syllabi below were read directly. | source |
| GATE — Life Sciences (XL) with Section U Food Technology IITs and IISc on rotation (2026: IIT Guwahati) · pg | Computer-based, 3 hours, 100 marks: General Aptitude 15, Section P Chemistry (compulsory) 25, and two optional sections of 30 marks each. MCQ, MSQ and NAT; −1/3 or −2/3 on wrong MCQs only; no partial credit on MSQ. | source |
| GATE — Agricultural Engineering (AG), for dairy engineering aspirants secondary IITs and IISc on rotation · pg | Computer-based, 3 hours, 100 marks (15 General Aptitude + 85 technical); see the agricultural engineering track's gate-ag row. | source |
| ASRB NET and ARS: dairy disciplines unverified Agricultural Scientists Recruitment Board (ICAR) · civil-service | As reported for other disciplines (secondary): NET is 150 objective questions, 2 hours, −1/3 for a wrong answer; ARS adds a descriptive mains and an interview. Not confirmed for the dairy disciplines. | source |
| FSSAI Food Analyst and Junior Analyst Examinations unverified Food Safety and Standards Authority of India · licensing | Unverified. | source |
| Food Safety Officer recruitment (state PSCs and FSSAI) unverified State public service commissions; FSSAI for central posts · civil-service | Unverified. Each commission sets its own written test. | source |
| IBPS Agricultural Field Officer (Specialist Officer) secondary Institute of Banking Personnel Selection · civil-service | 2026 pattern (from the agribusiness track's verified row): prelims 100 questions/125 marks/80 minutes; mains 150 questions/200 marks/125 minutes; only Professional Knowledge counts for merit. | source |
| State dairy development department posts unverified State public service commissions (e.g. Kerala PSC) · civil-service | Unverified. | source |
| NDDB and dairy cooperative recruitment unverified National Dairy Development Board; state cooperative milk federations · professional | Unverified. NDDB's career page links to an external portal; no selection procedure was shown when read on 3 Oct 2026. | source |
| Kenya Dairy Board licensing and dairy training unverified Kenya Dairy Board · professional | Unverified. | source |
| Public Service Commission posts in food technology and quality control unverified Public Service Commission, Nepal · civil-service | Unverified. | source |
| MSc Food Technology (admission) Wageningen University & Research · pg | Admission on file: a relevant BSc with food chemistry, engineering, microbiology and physics, mathematics and statistics; no entrance exam. | source |
| UVAS admission: BS Dairy Technology secondary University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Lahore · entrance | Merit formula set by the university (see the veterinary track's UVAS row for the general formula). | source |
| Food Technologist licensure examination unverified Professional Regulation Commission (Board of Food Technology) · licensing | Unverified. | source |
| Milchtechnologe/Milchtechnologin EFZ unverified Swiss vocational education system (SDBB career guidance) · professional | Unverified. Three-year apprenticeship with a federal certificate (EFZ); higher professional examinations exist for dairy masters. | source |
| Certified Cheese Professional (CCP) American Cheese Society · professional | 150 multiple-choice questions, up to 3 hours; paper-based in person, live remote proctoring, or at a Prometric centre. | source |
| Wisconsin Master Cheesemaker Program Center for Dairy Research, University of Wisconsin–Madison, with the Wisconsin Master Cheesemaker Board · specialist | Certification by cheese variety over about 2 years 8 months: required short courses, then assessment of the candidate's cheese and knowledge. | source |
| Wisconsin cheesemaker licence secondary Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) · licensing | Unverified. The licence requirements (training, apprenticeship and exam) could not be read: the DATCP site did not resolve from this session. | source |
| Grade A milk programme certifications (PMO / NCIMS) unverified U.S. FDA with state regulatory agencies · professional | Unverified. | source |
| Preventive Controls Qualified Individual (PCQI) — human food unverified Food Safety Preventive Controls Alliance · professional | Unverified. A standardised training course; whether it ends in a test was not confirmed. | source |
| Certified Food Scientist (CFS) — programme sunset International Food Science Certification Commission (IFT) · professional | No longer offered. | source |
| Academy of Cheese certification (Associate, Member, Fellow, Master of Cheese) secondary Academy of Cheese · professional | Four levels studied by self-study, virtual or classroom routes; the assessment format at each level is not stated on the home page. | source |
| Society of Dairy Technology: Training Academy and student awards Society of Dairy Technology · professional | No examination found: online courses, conferences and the International Journal of Dairy Technology. | source |
| IFST professional registration (Registered Food Scientist / Technologist) unverified Institute of Food Science & Technology · professional | Unverified. | source |
A dairy technologist's work changes over a career: from passing semesters and entrance exams, to running a pasteuriser, a quality lab or a milk route, to heading plants, quality functions and cooperatives, to setting the research agenda, the standards and the exams. This guide describes each stage as product analysis — what the work usually involves and where it hurts — not as a claim about any employer. No salaries or market sizes are given because none were verified. Where Laisha can help today it says so; anything not built yet is marked 'coming'.
An undergraduate in a four-year dairy technology or dairy science degree (for example B.Tech Dairy Technology at ICAR-NDRI or a state agricultural or veterinary university, BS Dairy Technology in Pakistan, a BSc Dairy or Food Science elsewhere) or a dairy apprentice — and the graduate preparing for ICAR AIEEA-PG, GATE XL-U, AICE-JRF/SRF or a first job.
What the day holds
Decisions that are theirs
What they look up
Where it hurts
A technologist about five years into one of the common roles: shift or production officer in a milk plant; quality assurance or laboratory officer; procurement officer running milk routes and collection centres; product developer; dairy engineer in maintenance or projects; food safety officer or food analyst; or a dairy development officer in government.
What the day holds
Decisions that are theirs
What they look up
Where it hurts
A senior professional about 25 years into the field: plant head or general manager of a large dairy; head of quality or regulatory affairs; managing director of a cooperative milk union or federation; technical director of an ingredients or infant-formula business; or a senior regulator.
What the day holds
Decisions that are theirs
What they look up
Where it hurts
A professor at an agricultural or dairy university, a principal scientist at ICAR-NDRI or a national dairy research centre, a corporate research director, or a leader in IDF, Codex or national standards committees — with a PhD and about 25 years of teaching, research and committee work.
What the day holds
Decisions that are theirs
What they look up
Where it hurts
These notes are free to read here, with no account.
What the Laisha app adds:
Free for ten days, then a subscription. We would rather write that here than have you find it later.